Keynote Speakers


Prof. Mohamed BENBOUZID
University of Brest, France

IEEE Fellow, IET Fellow

Mohamed Benbouzid received the B.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Batna, Batna, Algeria, in 1990, the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from the National Polytechnic Institute of Grenoble, Grenoble, France, in 1991 and 1994, respectively, and the Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches degree from the University of Picardie “Jules Verne,” Amiens, France, in 2000.
After receiving the Ph.D. degree, he joined the Professional Institute of Amiens, University of Picardie “Jules Verne,” where he was an Associate Professor of electrical and computer engineering. Since September 2004, he has been with the University of Brest, Brest, France, where he is a Full Professor of electrical engineering. Prof. Benbouzid is also a Distinguished Professor and a 1000 Talent Expert at the Shanghai Maritime University, Shanghai, China. His main research interests and experience include analysis, design, and control of electric machines, variable-speed drives for traction, propulsion, and renewable energy applications, and fault diagnosis of electric machines.
Prof. Benbouzid is an IEEE Fellow and a Fellow of the IET. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal on Energy Conversion and the Applied Sciences (MDPI) Section on Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering. He is a Subject Editor for the IET Renewable Power Generation.




Prof. Huai Wang
Aalborg University, Denmark

Chair of IEEE IAS/IES/PELS Chapter in Denmark (2018-2020)

Huai Wang is currently a Professor at the Department of Energy, Aalborg University, Denmark, where he leads the Reliability of Power Electronic Converters (ReliaPEC) group. He is also the Head of Mission on Digital Transformation and AI, with 13 affiliated research groups, to enable the next leap in transforming energy systems by bridging the multi-disciplinary research and innovation in energy, digitalization, and AI. His research addresses the fundamental challenges and application issues in efficient, reliable, and cognitive power electronic converters functioning as energy processors for our electrified and digitalized world. He collaborates widely with industry companies across the value chain, from power electronic materials and components to systems. He has contributed a few original concepts and methods to power electronics reliability and passive components and received six paper awards from IEEE and IET. In addition, he has given more than 100 invited talks in universities, companies, and conferences. He is the co-founder of Nordic Passive ApS.
Dr. Wang received his Ph.D. degree from the City University of Hong Kong in 2012 and a B. E. degree from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology in 2007. He was a short-term visiting scientist with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 2013 and ETH Zurich in 2014. He was with the ABB Corporate Research Center, Switzerland, in 2009. He received the Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society in 2016 for his contribution to the reliability of power electronic converter systems. He was as the Chair of IEEE IAS/IES/PELS Chapter in Denmark during 2018-2020 and serves the editorial board of four journals from IEEE, Springer Nature, and Elsevier.





Prof. Jesús Toribio
University of Salamanca, Spain

Professor Jesús Toribio graduated in Civil Engineering in 1982 and then in Mathematics in 1986. In 1987 he was awarded his PhD in the Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM) and turned into Associate Professor in that Institution. In 1992 he became Full Professor and Head of the Materials Science Department of the University of La Coruña (at the age of 32, thus being the youngest Full Professor in the area of Materials Science in Spain). In 2000 he moved to the University of Salamanca (USAL) where is currently Full Professor of Materials Science and Head of the Fracture and Structural Integrity Research Group (FSIRG) of that Institution.
His research work is mainly concerned with fatigue and fracture mechanics, environmentally assisted cracking, stress corrosion cracking and hydrogen embrittlement/degradation/damage of metals and alloys (mainly cold drawn pearlitic steel wires for civil engineering and austenitic stainless steels for nuclear engineering and energy applications), covering theoretical, computational and experimental aspects. He actively participates in International Conferences, very often being member of the International Advisory Committee, organising Special Sessions/Symposia, being Session Chairman or delivering Plenary/Keynote/Invited Lectures. Professor Dr. Jesús Toribio has published more than 500 scientific papers, most of them in international books and journals.
He is the Chairman of the Technical Committee 10 (TC10): Environmentally Assisted Cracking of the European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS) and has been Director (2013-2017) of the International Congress of Fracture-The World Academy of Structural Integrity (ICF-WASI), being responsible of launching the Ibero-American Academy of Structural Integrity (IA2SI). Prof. Toribio has been awarded a variety of scientific research prizes and awards including: (i) UPM Young Scientist Award of the Polytechnic University of Madrid; (ii) METROTEC Award for the best Technological Research Project; (iii) Honour Medal of the Spanish Group of Fracture (GEF/SEIE) in recognition of his research achievements in the field of fracture mechanics; (iv) Fellow of the Wessex Institute of Technology (WIT) in recognition of leadership and outstanding work in engineering sciences; (v) Top Reviewer 2011 in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the quality of the Elsevier International Journal Engineering Fracture Mechanics; (vi) Fellow of the European Structural Society (ESIS Fellow) for his outstanding contributions to the art, science, teaching or practice of fracture mechanics and his service to the society; (vii) Honorary Member of the Italian Group of Fracture (IGF) in acknowledgement and appreciation of his outstanding achievements in the research field
of fracture mechanics; (viii) Best Paper and Presentation Award in the International Conference on Energy Materials and Applications (ICEMA 2017) held in 2017 in Hiroshima, Japan, with a paper entitled: Numerical Simulation of Hydrogen Diffusion in the Pressure Vessel Wall of a WWER-440 Reactor; (ix) María de Maeztu Scientific Award of the University of Salamanca (800th anniversary during 2018) in recognition of academic trajectory and excellence in scientific and technological research; (x) Scientific Merit Award of the Portuguese Group of Fracture (PGF) in recognition of scientific contributions during his career.







Previous Speakers